The short answer
APR is an annual rate, not a monthly dollar charge. Many issuers calculate interest using daily balances; the applicable rate, balance history and grace-period eligibility determine what you owe.[1][2] Eligible purchases can incur no interest when the full balance is paid by the due date, even though the card displays an APR.[3]
An annual rate is only one input
The CFPB explains that the daily periodic rate generally comes from dividing APR by 360 or 365, depending on the issuer.[2] That denominator matters: do not assume every card uses 365. A hypothetical 18.25% APR divided by 365 gives 0.05% per day, or 0.0005 as a decimal multiplier. This is a teaching rate, not a market quote.
APR divided by twelve ignores the actual number of days and changes in the balance. Many issuers calculate interest daily, and paying down a balance sooner reduces interest when no grace period applies.[1] A monthly statement is therefore a reporting interval, not proof that interest is calculated only once a month.
Daily balance and average daily balance
Under the CFPB’s defined daily-balance method, each day’s balance is multiplied by its daily rate and the resulting charges are added. Under its average-daily-balance method, daily balances are added and divided by the cycle’s day count; that average is multiplied by the daily rate and day count.[4]
For an unchanged daily rate and the same daily balances, these two expressions are algebraically equivalent: interest = sum of daily balances × daily rate = average daily balance × daily rate × days. The definitions describe both methods with and without compounding; they are not universal contract terms unless incorporated into the agreement.[4] Check your own agreement before choosing a calculation.
A payment-timing example you can reproduce
Assume a 30-day cycle, 18.25% APR, a 365-day divisor, no grace period, no fees, no new purchases and no within-cycle compounding. Suppose the interest-bearing balance is $1,000 for days 1–15, then a $400 payment reduces it to $600 for days 16–30. These are stipulated daily balances, not a prediction of payment processing.
The average is ($1,000 × 15 + $600 × 15) ÷ 30 = $800. Interest is $800 × 0.0005 × 30 = $12.00. If the same reduction instead takes effect on day 6, the average is ($1,000 × 5 + $600 × 25) ÷ 30 = $666.67, and interest using the unrounded average is $10.00. Both scenarios end at $600 before interest, yet the earlier payment saves $2. These are derived calculations under the stated assumptions, not issuer quotations.
Compounding changes the balance being measured
Daily accrual and daily compounding are not interchangeable. The CFPB’s compounding definitions add the previous day’s interest when constructing the next daily balance; its noncompounding definitions exclude unpaid finance charges.[4] Its daily-rate explainer also describes how adding interest to the balance creates daily compounding.[2]
Our example deliberately uses no within-cycle compounding to isolate payment timing. It must not be presented as an exact calculator for every card. For a real reconciliation, request the balance-calculation method, applicable daily rate, payment-effective dates and rounding rules rather than forcing a statement to match APR divided by twelve.
A grace period can make purchase interest zero
A grace period runs between the end of a billing cycle and the payment due date. Issuers are not required to offer one, although most cards provide one on purchases.[3] Where it exists and you are not already carrying a balance, paying the full balance by the due date can avoid interest on new purchases.[3]
The relevant full payment is not merely the minimum payment. The CFPB’s contract definitions distinguish the balance owed at the end of a billing period from the minimum due, and tie grace-period treatment to paying the full balance.[4] Confirm the statement amount and eligibility conditions with the issuer; do not treat a positive purchase APR as evidence that every purchase must generate interest.
Losing the grace period affects new spending too
If you lose your grace period by not paying in full, interest applies to the unpaid portion and to purchases in the new cycle starting on each purchase date, according to the CFPB.[3] Paying in full in alternating months can lose the protection for the unpaid month and the following month.[3] Do not assume one later payment instantly restores it; check the agreement’s restoration requirements.[4]
Grace periods typically cover purchases, not cash advances or issuer checks, which generally begin accruing interest on the transaction date.[3] Separate these transaction categories before estimating a bill. A purchase grace period is not an interest-free promise for every use of the account.
Reconcile categories before disputing the total
Statements must show each category with a different APR and the balance in that category.[1] Payments above the minimum generally go first to the highest-rate balance, while allocation of the minimum portion is generally the issuer’s choice.[1] Consequently, a payment cannot automatically be subtracted entirely from whichever balance you are analyzing.
For a practical audit, collect the cycle dates, each APR category, daily balances, credited payments and grace-period status. Calculate each applicable category under the agreement and compare the interest subtotal separately from fees. If it does not reconcile, ask the issuer for its calculation. The central distinction is rate versus dollars: the annual percentage alone cannot reveal the interest charged for your particular month.
Sources & scope
Links support definitions and methodology. Worked examples are hypothetical, not quotes; the review date is not the observation date of a market value.
- CFPB — How does my credit card company calculate the amount of interest I owe? (last reviewed) ↗
Source date: 2024-01-22 · Verified: 2026-09-20
- CFPB — What is a daily periodic rate on a credit card? (last reviewed) ↗
Source date: 2024-09-23 · Verified: 2026-09-20
- CFPB — What is a grace period for a credit card? (last reviewed) ↗
Source date: 2024-09-23 · Verified: 2026-09-20
- CFPB — Credit card contract definitions (publication date not stated) ↗
Source date: Not stated in the retrieved body · Verified: 2026-09-20