Three numbers, three different questions
The billed charge is what the provider submits for the service, not automatically what you owe. The allowed amount is the plan-recognized amount for a covered service; HealthCare.gov also calls it an eligible expense, payment allowance, or negotiated rate. CMS distinguishes both figures from the insurer's payment and the patient's share.[2][5]
For the simple in-network example below, the allowed amount is divided between insurance and the patient. It is not a promise that insurance alone pays that whole amount. The difference between the billed charge and the allowed amount is a contractual adjustment in this example, not another patient charge. HealthCare.gov says a preferred provider may not balance bill for covered services.[2][6]
Read “patient responsibility” in context. On an explanation of benefits, it describes the claim's assigned patient share; CMS warns that the notice may not reflect amounts you already paid. On a provider bill, “balance due” generally means the amount still owed on that statement, after posted payments and adjustments.[1][5]
An EOB explains a claim; it does not request payment
An explanation of benefits, or EOB, comes from your health plan and is not a bill. It shows services, dates, provider charges, allowed charges, insurance payments, and what the plan assigns to you. The provider's bill is the document to reconcile against it before paying.[1][5]
Match the patient, provider, service date, service description, and claim details. A single visit can produce separate notices for different providers or services, so compare corresponding items rather than unrelated grand totals. If no EOB arrives, CMS recommends contacting the plan to check whether the provider submitted a claim.[5]
Deductible first, then percentage sharing
A deductible is the amount you pay for covered services before the plan starts paying under that deductible arrangement. Coinsurance is a percentage you pay after meeting the deductible, rather than a fixed-dollar copayment. HealthCare.gov's example calculates the percentage using the allowed amount, not the provider's original charge.[4][6]
Do not apply this sequence to every service automatically. HealthCare.gov notes that many plans cover some services before the deductible is met, some benefits have separate deductibles, and family plans may have individual and family deductibles. Check the benefit and remaining deductible applicable to this claim.[4]
A worked example you can reproduce
These are invented teaching figures, not market prices or a quote for care. Assume one covered in-network service, a fully processed claim, no copayment, no other insurer, and no out-of-pocket limit reached. The provider accepts the allowed amount. This benefit applies the remaining deductible first, then 20% patient coinsurance to the remainder.
- Provider billed charge: $1,000.
- Allowed amount: $600.
- Contractual adjustment: $1,000 − $600 = $400.
- Deductible still remaining before this claim: $200.
- Allowed amount left after deductible: $600 − $200 = $400.
- Patient coinsurance: 20% × $400 = $80.
- Total patient responsibility: $200 + $80 = $280.
- Insurer payment: 80% × $400 = $320.
The figures reconcile twice: $280 + $320 = $600 allowed; $400 adjustment + $320 insurer payment + $280 patient share = $1,000 billed. If you already paid $50 toward this same service and the provider credited it, the remaining bill is $280 − $50 = $230. The adjustment is neither an insurance payment nor a payment you made.
Two boundary checks make the deductible logic clearer. If the deductible was already met, the same $600 allowed amount produces $120 patient coinsurance and $480 from insurance. If at least $600 of deductible remains, the patient pays the $600 allowed amount and insurance pays $0 under these assumptions. Neither result makes the $1,000 billed charge the calculation base.
Common mistakes and a practical cross-check
- “Allowed amount means insurance pays it all.” Instead, separate the insurer payment from the deductible and coinsurance.[6]
- “Insurance paid zero, so the claim was denied.” The deductible example shows why zero payment alone cannot prove a denial; read the explanation and remark codes.[1]
- “The EOB says $280, so I must pay $280 again.” Check receipts and credits first; prior payments may not appear in the EOB.[1]
For the same claim, line up billed charges, adjustments, allowed amount, insurer payment, deductible, coinsurance, any copayment, prior patient payments, and balance due. Ask for an itemized bill if you cannot identify a charge. CMS recommends comparing the services and amounts owed on the bill against the EOB.[5]
What to do when the numbers disagree
Ask the provider's billing office to explain missing adjustments or payment credits. Ask the plan to explain the applicable deductible, coinsurance, claim status, and remark codes. CMS says a bill should not exceed the EOB patient balance; if it does, contact the provider. First confirm that you are comparing the same services and claim version.[1]
Keep both documents, receipts, and a dated record of conversations. Request a corrected statement or written explanation, and ask how the disputed amount and due date will be handled while reviewed; do not assume that review pauses collection. This is a price-checking workflow, not a determination of individual coverage or legal rights.
Research note: official pages were checked on September 21, 2026. The saved web-search results are a discovery sample, not search-volume or demand data. Definitions come from retrieved official page text, not search summaries; the dollar amounts above are hypothetical.
Sources and scope
Sources support definitions and rules. Worked examples are hypothetical, not current quotes. The check date is neither a source publication date nor a product valuation date.
- CMS — How to read a health insurance explanation of benefits ↗
Source date: 2026-08-25 (update or revision date, not first publication) · Checked: 2026-09-21
- HealthCare.gov — Allowed amount ↗
Source date: Not stated in the retrieved source · Checked: 2026-09-21
- HealthCare.gov — Deductible ↗
Source date: Not stated in the retrieved source · Checked: 2026-09-21
- CMS — How to read your medical bill ↗
Source date: 2026-08-25 (update or revision date, not first publication) · Checked: 2026-09-21
- HealthCare.gov — Coinsurance ↗
Source date: Not stated in the retrieved source · Checked: 2026-09-21