Three numbers, not one moving price
A moving estimate, the amount collectible at delivery, and the final bill answer different questions. For a covered U.S. interstate household-goods move, a binding estimate fixes the price for the quantities and services it lists. A nonbinding estimate does not guarantee the final cost. The familiar 110% rule principally limits collection at delivery; it is not a universal ceiling on everything you ultimately owe.[1][6]
Build your comparison around the written scope, the estimate type, and payment timing. A low starting number with uncertain services is not directly comparable with a higher, clearly specified binding offer. Keep the anticipated final cost separate from the cash needed to receive your belongings.
What a binding estimate actually binds
The binding price covers the described shipment and identified services, not every later request. Before loading, if additional goods or services change the scope, the mover and customer can reaffirm the original estimate, agree to a revised written binding estimate, or agree in writing to treat it as nonbinding. If they cannot agree, the mover may decline the shipment.[7]
Resolve those choices before loading. Under 49 CFR 375.403(a)(7), loading without the required replacement or agreed conversion reaffirms the original binding estimate, subject to the specified additional-charge exceptions. A binding estimate therefore is not permission to add services free, nor permission for the mover to rewrite the base price afterward.[7]
Nonbinding means reconcile, not automatically add 10%
A nonbinding final charge depends on the shipment, services and applicable published tariff. Ask for the relevant tariff provisions, not just a salesperson’s verbal assurance. The written estimate should explain the basis of final charges.[1][6]
For the ordinary estimated services, if the actual bill is no more than 110% of the estimate, the mover can collect the actual bill at delivery. If it is higher, reconcile the uncollected balance under the applicable billing rules; do not assume a general 30-day delay before invoicing. Sections 375.805 and 375.807(a) require presentation of the transportation invoice within 15 days of delivery, excluding Saturdays, Sundays and federal holidays. This is an invoicing deadline, not the payment deadline. The extra 10% is neither an automatic surcharge nor debt forgiveness. Separately permitted delivery charges still need examination.[6][3][4]
Two exceptions that change delivery-day cash
Services you request after the bill of lading is issued, which were not included in the estimate, can be payable in full at delivery. Another category is tariff-defined “impracticable operations”: work needed to accomplish delivery under conditions covered by that definition. Charges for this category collected at delivery cannot exceed 15% of all other charges due at delivery.[6]
That is not 15% of the impracticable-operations fee itself. Ask the mover to identify the tariff provision, explain why it applies, and show the percentage base. Section 375.407(d) sends uncollected operations charges to Subpart H. Check invoice presentation, the credit period and any extension charges separately under 375.807; it does not grant a general interest-free 30-day wait before billing.[6][4]
A different rule applies under 375.405(b)(9) when the carrier identifies necessary additional services after issuing the bill of lading: it must notify the shipper before performing them and allow at least one hour for a decision, with a signed attachment if the shipper agrees to pay. That provision specifies billing after 30 days from delivery; if the shipper does not agree, it limits the work to services required to complete delivery, with the stated delivery-collection exception for impracticable operations. This is not the ordinary estimate-overrun rule or the rule for customer-requested extras in 375.405(b)(10).[5]
A hypothetical bill split you can reproduce
Assume full delivery, no deposits, no prior payments, no agreed credit, and a $4,000 nonbinding estimate. Suppose legitimate final charges for the originally estimated services are $5,000. With no exceptions, delivery collection is $4,000 × 1.10 = $4,400, leaving $600 to reconcile under the applicable billing rules. If those final charges were instead $4,200, the delivery amount would be $4,200, not $4,400.[6]
Now add an assumed $300 service you requested after the bill of lading was issued and $900 of properly classified impracticable operations. Other delivery charges total $4,400 + $300 = $4,700. The operations amount collectible then is the smaller of $900 and $4,700 × 15%: $705. Delivery collection is $5,405; the final total is $6,200; $795 remains, consisting of $600 ordinary excess and $195 operations charges. These are invented teaching amounts, not a mover quote or a finding that a disputed fee is valid.
Compare documents before comparing totals
First, identify the actual carrier and confirm its written estimate; a broker’s number is not automatically the carrier’s accepted estimate. Second, match the inventory, packing, access arrangements and named services across offers. Third, confirm whether the estimate is binding or nonbinding and obtain applicable tariff details and the accepted payment method.[6]
Fourth, keep dated copies of every scope change and record whether it occurred before loading or was your later request. Finally, request an itemized reconciliation separating estimated services, requested extras, operations charges, prior-payment credits and deferred balances. The calculation above deliberately excludes deposits; do not pay a credited amount twice.
Handle a disputed demand without assuming a remedy
If the mover demands more, ask which category authorizes each dollar and preserve the estimate, bill of lading, messages, invoice and payment records. FMCSA’s booklet advises contacting the agency if a mover refuses delivery unless you pay an amount it is not entitled to charge; it also states that FMCSA cannot settle your individual dispute.[2]
This guide covers the federal interstate household-goods framework, not every state move, commercial-zone exception, self-service rental or partial-delivery situation. Crossing a state line alone does not establish coverage. It explains published guidance, not a legal conclusion about your contract or a promise of recovery.[2]
Sources and scope
Sources support definitions and rules. Worked examples are hypothetical, not current quotes. The check date is neither a source publication date nor a product valuation date.
- FMCSA: What is a binding move estimate? ↗
Source date: Not stated in the retrieved source · Checked: 2026-09-22
Publication/update date not confirmed; checked September 22, 2026.
- FMCSA: Your Rights and Responsibilities When You Move ↗
Source date: Not stated in the retrieved source · Checked: 2026-09-22
Booklet states Revised October 2022; exact day not confirmed. Extracted body has omissions; only visible passages are used. Checked September 22, 2026.
- 49 CFR § 375.805 — Cornell LII ↗
Source date: Not stated in the retrieved source · Checked: 2026-09-22
Current text retrieved directly on September 22, 2026; Cornell LII reproduction of the CFR, not the superseded 2015 guidance. Retrieval date is not a publication date.
- 49 CFR § 375.807 — Cornell LII ↗
Source date: Not stated in the retrieved source · Checked: 2026-09-22
Current text retrieved directly on September 22, 2026; Cornell LII reproduction of the CFR, not the superseded 2015 guidance. Retrieval date is not a publication date.
- 49 CFR § 375.405 — Cornell LII ↗
Source date: Not stated in the retrieved source · Checked: 2026-09-22
Current text retrieved directly on September 22, 2026; Cornell LII reproduction of the CFR, not the superseded 2015 guidance. Retrieval date is not a publication date.
- 49 CFR § 375.407 — Cornell LII ↗
Source date: Not stated in the retrieved source · Checked: 2026-09-22
Current text retrieved directly on September 22, 2026; Cornell LII reproduction of the CFR, not the superseded 2015 guidance. Retrieval date is not a publication date.
- 49 CFR § 375.403 — Cornell LII ↗
Source date: Not stated in the retrieved source · Checked: 2026-09-22
Current text retrieved directly on September 22, 2026; Cornell LII reproduction of the CFR, not the superseded 2015 guidance. Retrieval date is not a publication date.