PriceToday.PRICE NOTES · AN INDEPENDENT FIELD GUIDE中文
PRICE DEFINITIONS / FIELD NOTE

Premium Bonds Prize Fund Rate vs. Personal Return: Budget for Prizes, Not Interest

Separate the NS&I prize pool rate from your actual winnings, calculate a personal return and compare savings using explicit after-tax assumptions.

The rate belongs to the prize pool, not your account

Premium Bonds do not pay conventional interest: NS&I uses an annual prize fund rate to finance monthly tax-free prize draws. The resulting percentage is not a promise that your balance will grow by that amount. NS&I explicitly lists regular income and guaranteed returns among the reasons this product may not suit someone.[3][1] For a household budget, separate three questions: how the pool is funded, what you actually won, and how much dependable income you need.

Separate the mean, a typical outcome and your result

NS&I allocates the monthly fund among higher, medium and lower prize bands rather than crediting every saver the same percentage. Its allocation page describes both large jackpots and smaller prizes, and warns that the rate, prize values, odds and allocation can change.[2] A pool-wide average therefore cannot describe every account.

In statistical language, the mean combines all outcomes, including unusually large wins. The median is the middle outcome for a specified group or model. Your realised return is neither: it is the prizes you actually received relative to the money held over the relevant period. Do not subtract an arbitrary percentage point from the advertised rate and call the remainder your guaranteed or median return. A credible median estimate needs a holding size, draw exposure and a complete prize distribution.

Calculate a personal return without counting deposits as winnings

Assume, in a hypothetical illustration, that you hold £10,000 unchanged throughout a full twelve-month measurement period and receive £125 in prizes, paid out rather than reinvested. Your simple realised return is £125 ÷ £10,000 = 1.25%. If no prizes arrive, it is 0%; if £500 arrives, it is 5%. These are invented outcomes, not forecasts or claims about typical holders.

Now suppose a fictional prize scheme has an annual funding rate of 4%. Multiplying £10,000 by 4% gives £400 as a proportional funding illustration, not £400 owed to this saver. It also does not tell you the probability of winning £400. We deliberately use no current NS&I rate or current winning odds in this calculation.

If you add £5,000 halfway through the year, dividing winnings by the final £15,000 balance obscures timing. Keep a dated cash-flow record and distinguish time held from eligibility for particular draws. A time-weighted capital denominator can support a simple diagnostic, but it is not automatically a formal annualised investment return. Reinvested prizes are winnings and additional capital for later periods: do not count them twice as income.

Compare an after-tax alternative under explicit assumptions

Assume a different account pays a fixed 4% over one year on the same £10,000, with no fees, no withdrawals and interest paid at year-end. Gross interest would be £400. If, solely for this scenario, every pound of that interest faces 20% tax, net interest is £320, or 3.2%. If none is taxable, net interest is £400. These are arithmetic assumptions, not current offers or a determination of your tax liability.

Against the illustrative £125 Premium Bonds winnings, those alternatives are £195 or £275 higher. NS&I states that Premium Bonds prizes are free of UK Income Tax and Capital Gains Tax; this is its UK product description, not advice on other tax situations. Tax-free does not mean a known amount.[1] Apply your actual allowances and circumstances when comparing offers. Dividing a hypothetical prize return by one minus a tax rate does not turn that uncertain return into guaranteed interest.

Use a decision checklist before moving savings

  • Define the job: emergency capital, a scheduled payment or optional savings with uncertain winnings.
  • Record your balance history, actual prizes and measurement dates before judging past performance.
  • Read the official terms for draw eligibility and withdrawal timing; do not assume purchase means immediate participation or immediate access to cash.
  • Compare a dated savings offer with matching access conditions, fees and your after-tax interest.
  • Run a zero-prize budget. If it fails, do not rely on a pool average to cover the shortfall.
  • Recheck rate and allocation announcements rather than carrying a historical percentage into a new decision.

When this comparison is not enough

NS&I warns that inflation can reduce the true value of money.[1] This guide therefore does not establish purchasing-power protection, rank long-term investments, assess debt repayment or cover overseas tax treatment. Joint-saving requirements also need another product: NS&I lists saving jointly as unsuitable for Premium Bonds.[1]

Evidence dates and boundaries

Sources were checked on 23 September 2026. Retrieved versions of the product page differed on displayed rates, and the allocation page labelled its September figures estimates. No live percentage or odds are asserted here. Public forum discussions demonstrate questions about disappointing returns and whether the product is worthwhile; their anecdotes are not performance data. The method is educational, not personalised financial advice.

Sources and scope

Sources support definitions and rules. Worked examples are hypothetical, not current quotes. The check date is neither a source publication date nor a product valuation date.

  1. NS&I — Premium Bonds ↗

    Source date: Not stated in the retrieved source · Checked: 2026-09-23

    Undated product page, checked 23 September 2026. Retrieved versions show different rate periods; only stable product and UK tax statements are used. Extraction is truncated: only the relevant retrieved passages were reviewed, not the complete page.

  2. NS&I — How we share out Premium Bonds prizes ↗

    Source date: Not stated in the retrieved source · Checked: 2026-09-23

    Undated allocation page, checked 23 September 2026. September draw amounts are labelled estimates; the article uses allocation mechanics, not the estimated figures. Extraction is truncated: only the relevant retrieved passages were reviewed, not the complete page.

  3. NS&I — Improved rates for Premium Bonds and four other savings accounts ↗

    Source date: 2026-05-14 · Checked: 2026-09-23

    Published 14 May 2026; checked 23 September 2026. A historical announcement used only for the no-interest mechanism , not current rates. Extraction is truncated: only the relevant retrieved passages were reviewed, not the complete page.