The short answer
APY already incorporates compounding. Use the underlying annual interest rate—not APY—in a periodic compounding formula. A monthly interest credit does not by itself establish monthly compounding.[1][2]
Read three fields, not one percentage
The CFPB describes annual percentage yield as a measure of total account interest based on both the interest rate and compounding frequency. Its model disclosures separately identify when interest is compounded and when it is credited to an account.[1][2] Before comparing offers, copy three distinct fields: annual interest rate, APY and the compounding schedule. Then record the crediting schedule in a fourth field rather than assuming that the two schedules match.
This matters when a statement displays one interest payment each month. That payment schedule alone does not establish the compounding frequency: the official calculation commentary explicitly discusses an account that compounds daily and credits monthly.[1] Ask for the account disclosure instead of reverse-engineering the terms from the number of visible statement entries. In this guide, “interest rate” means the annual rate before the extra effect of intra-year compounding, not a borrowing APR.
Build one transparent monthly-compounding example
Assume an invented deposit of $10,000, an annual interest rate of 4%, twelve equal compounding periods, no balance changes and no fees or taxes. Assume the rate stays fixed for the full year and interest remains in the account. These are teaching inputs, not an available rate. The monthly rate is 0.04 ÷ 12. After the first period, interest is 10,000 × 0.04 ÷ 12 = $33.333333…, before illustrative rounding.
After twelve periods, the balance is 10,000 × (1 + 0.04 ÷ 12)^12 = $10,407.415429…. Gross interest is therefore about $407.42, and the effective annual yield is [(1 + 0.04 ÷ 12)^12 − 1] × 100 = approximately 4.074154%. This is a simplified equal-period compound-interest model. For a 365-day account calculation, the official APY formula reduces to interest divided by principal, multiplied by 100.[1] Actual account day-count and rounding terms still need checking.
Avoid counting compounding twice
If you already have the unrounded effective annual yield from that example, multiply the unchanged starting balance by that annual yield once to find the assumed full-year interest: 10,000 × 0.0407415429… = $407.415429…. Do not put 0.0407415429 into the monthly formula as though it were the nominal rate. That would add another layer of compounding to a number that already includes it. This conclusion follows directly from the preceding arithmetic.
For comparison, keeping the invented annual interest rate at 4% but assuming 365 daily compounding periods gives 10,000 × [(1 + 0.04 ÷ 365)^365 − 1] = about $408.08. The difference from the monthly model is only about $0.67 on these particular inputs. This is not a claim that daily compounding always wins an account comparison: the underlying rate, qualifying balance and charges might also differ. Compare like-for-like APYs first, then check conditions.
A yearly comparison is not your next statement payment
The official disclosure calculation generally assumes principal and interest remain deposited for the entire term, with no further deposits or withdrawals. For an account without a stated maturity, such as a typical savings account, it uses an assumed 365-day term.[1] Consequently, multiplying a starting balance by APY is a conditional full-year illustration, not a reconstruction of an account with money arriving and leaving during the year.
Even within the monthly model above, three periods earn 10,000 × [(1 + 0.04 ÷ 12)^3 − 1] = about $100.33. Dividing the full-year $407.415429… by four instead gives about $101.85, a different result. Neither calculation estimates an actual three-calendar-month statement without its dates and account rules. Keep the holding period explicit; an annualized percentage is not the percentage earned in every shorter interval.
Separate a comparison assumption from a rate promise
For a variable-rate account without an introductory premium or discount, Regulation DD calculates the disclosure APY using the initial rate and assuming it remains unchanged during the year.[1] Separately, the model account disclosure says the interest rate and APY may change.[2] These statements are compatible: the constant-rate assumption enables a standardized calculation but does not turn a variable-rate account into a fixed-rate promise.
If the rate changes midway through your savings plan, split your estimate into periods using each applicable rate and balance rather than applying the original APY to the entire year. Treat this as a worksheet instruction, not a forecast of what a bank will do. Also distinguish a known promotional schedule from an ordinary variable rate: the official appendix provides a separate calculation treatment for introductory premium or discounted rates.[1]
Keep eligibility and fees beside the yield
The CFPB model clauses include minimum balances required to obtain a disclosed APY, possible account fees, and different approaches to balance tiers.[2] Do not compare a yield applicable to your entire planned deposit with a headline that applies only to one portion or requires a balance you will not maintain. Read the actual conditions; a model clause illustrates possible terms, not the contract for every bank.
A useful final record contains the account name, currency, quoted APY, annual interest rate, compounding frequency, crediting schedule, qualifying balance, fees and the date you obtained the disclosure. Keep hypothetical gross interest separate from any fee deduction or tax estimate. This article checks the comparison method rather than quoting current rates, recommending an account or claiming a particular return is available today.
Sources & scope
Links support definitions and methodology. Worked examples are hypothetical, not quotes; the review date is not the observation date of a market value.
- CFPB — Appendix A to Part 1030: Annual Percentage Yield Calculation ↗
Source date: Not stated in the retrieved body · Verified: 2026-09-20
- CFPB — Appendix B to Part 1030: Model Clauses and Sample Forms ↗
Source date: Not stated in the retrieved body · Verified: 2026-09-20