PriceToday.PRICE NOTES · AN INDEPENDENT FIELD GUIDE中文
PRICE DEFINITIONS / FIELD NOTE

MSRP vs. Out-the-Door Price: Compare the Same New Car, Line by Line

Compare US new-car advertisements with itemized out-the-door quotes, separating dealer fees, taxes, add-ons and trade-in debt before you sign.

A discount from MSRP is not the same as a low purchase bill. Compare the complete price for an identified vehicle before comparing how to pay. The FTC recommends getting a written out-the-door price, including taxes and fees, before visiting the dealer or discussing financing.[2] This guide concerns the purchase itself, not loan interest or lease payments.

Separate three different prices

MSRP means Manufacturer’s Suggested Retail Price. The FTC distinguishes the manufacturer’s window sticker, showing the base vehicle, factory-installed options and transportation charge, from a dealer sticker that can add accessories, preparation and markup.[6] Ask whether an advertised figure includes destination; do not add it twice when already included.

The advertised selling price is the offer to investigate, not proof of your final bill. Discounts may depend on military status, graduation, an existing lease or using a particular lender.[4] Request only incentives you actually qualify for, and identify any incompatible offers.

Match the vehicle and the conditions

Request the VIN and window sticker for every quote. For revisions on one car, insist on the same VIN; across dealers, different VINs should match model year, trim, drivetrain, factory packages and condition. Record demonstrator mileage, installed accessories, availability and delivery timing. A cheaper differently equipped car is not an equivalent offer.

Give every seller the same registration address, intended payment method, eligible incentives and quote deadline. Ask for a no-trade baseline and disclose if you intend to pay cash: a lender-dependent rebate does not belong in an unconditional cash comparison. The FTC recommends confirming availability and getting the complete price in writing before leaving home.[4]

Request an itemized purchase total

  • Vehicle selling price, with destination treatment stated.
  • Dealer discount and each conditional manufacturer rebate.
  • Dealer charges: documentation, preparation, delivery or other named fees.
  • Each selected accessory or protection product, individually priced.
  • Sales or use tax, title, registration and other government charges.
  • Complete total, plus any estimated amount payable separately.

For this comparison, define OTD as the complete purchase total before trade equity, down payment and financing costs. Ask who receives each fee; a dealer documentation charge is not automatically a government tax. Require the tax basis and applicable jurisdiction, and verify estimates with the relevant tax or registration authority. Mark amounts collected later rather than treating them as zero.

Keep add-ons visible

GAP products, window etching, extended warranties and service contracts are examples of add-ons; the FTC says you may decline unwanted add-ons and should not be charged without consent.[2] Ask for a revised total without them. For installed accessories, ask whether removal or a price concession is available; if the seller insists on a package, compare that actual package price with another vehicle rather than assuming a guaranteed right to a particular discount.

Work through a hypothetical comparison

These invented dollar amounts are not current Toyota, Honda or other manufacturer quotes. Assume equivalent vehicles, no trade, no conditional rebates, destination included, a 6% tax applying only to vehicle price plus add-ons, untaxed dealer fees, and $300 government fees. Actual tax treatment must be checked locally.

  • Offer A: $30,000 vehicle + $800 dealer fee + $1,200 protection package + $1,872 tax + $300 government fees = $34,172.
  • Offer B: $30,600 vehicle + $400 dealer fee + no add-ons + $1,836 tax + $300 government fees = $33,136.

B starts $600 higher but finishes $1,036 lower. If A removes the package, tax falls to $1,800 and its total becomes $32,900: now A is $236 lower. Recalculate the tax as well as the removed product.

Reconcile the trade separately

Obtain the old lender’s dated payoff amount, not just the statement balance; CFPB explains that these can differ.[5] Continuing the hypothetical $32,900 purchase, a $12,000 trade with a $15,000 payoff leaves $3,000 negative equity. Assuming no trade-related tax adjustment, settling both transactions requires $35,900 before applying cash. A $5,000 cash payment leaves $30,900 to cover, not a $30,900 vehicle price. Positive equity works in the opposite direction. Show any actual trade-related tax adjustment separately; this example assumes none.

Your before-signing checklist

  • Save the advertisement, VIN, written quote and incentive conditions.
  • Confirm the complete itemized total and every estimate or exclusion.
  • Approve products individually; reconcile trade value and payoff separately.
  • Compare the final purchase paperwork with the quote before signing; question differences and be prepared to walk away, as FTC advises.[4]

Sources and scope

Sources support definitions and rules. Worked examples are hypothetical, not current quotes. The check date is neither a source publication date nor a product valuation date.

  1. FTC: Buying a car or truck? ↗

    Source date: 2022-07-18 · Checked: 2026-09-22

    Visible article date: July 18, 2022; checked September 22, 2026.

  2. FTC: Car Dealer Ads and Promotions: Know Before You Go ↗

    Source date: Not stated in the retrieved source · Checked: 2026-09-22

    Publication or revision date not established from the retrieved text; checked September 22, 2026.

  3. CFPB: Should I trade in my car if it’s not paid off? ↗

    Source date: 2023-09-12 · Checked: 2026-09-22

    Page says last reviewed September 12, 2023 and last modified September 14, 2023; checked September 22, 2026.

  4. FTC: Buckle Up: Navigating Auto Sales and Financing ↗

    Source date: Not stated in the retrieved source · Checked: 2026-09-22

    Document date not established in the retrieved excerpt; checked September 22, 2026. Cited for price definitions, not current market statistics or a new rule.