A public charging price is a billing rule, not a promise about your final receipt. Compare the energy you need, the billable time, and the conditions that trigger extra charges. Electrify America says location, plan and delivered energy determine DC charging prices; selected stations also use time-of-use pricing.[1] This guide uses that network's official pages to explain a method, not to publish a nationwide tariff.
Record the station, time and payment route
Before connecting, record the station and charger IDs, the displayed unit, your membership plan, the time window, and applicable taxes or fees. Electrify America directs drivers to its app and charger screen for current prices, power levels and idle fees.[1] Take a screenshot where possible. Do not assume a rate posted by another driver applies to your location or account.
For a session crossing a peak/off-peak boundary, ask whether the starting price remains fixed or billing changes during the session. The pricing page confirms that off-peak hours vary by station, but does not establish one universal boundary rule.[1] Treat an unanswered question as uncertainty, not permission to apply the cheapest rate throughout.
Separate energy billing from minute billing
For a simple energy tariff, charging cost equals billed kWh multiplied by the applicable price per kWh. For a simple time tariff, multiply billable minutes by the price per minute. If the displayed rules use bands, sum each band's units and charges. Add both energy and time only when the actual tariff requires both.
Electrify America's FAQ still describes per-minute locations and says their power level is determined by the charging rate the vehicle communicates to the charger, with the per-minute price displayed after the session begins.[4] That language is not proof that a particular station currently bills by time. Confirm the local unit; do not replace it with an old national price chart.
Use delivered energy and realistic charging time
A charger's advertised kW is not the same thing as energy billed in kWh. The FAQ identifies displayed kW as current power and kWh as cumulative energy delivered during the session; it also says charging time depends on the vehicle, battery age and weather.[4] For a completed session, use the receipt's billed energy rather than nominal battery capacity multiplied by dashboard percentage changes.
For planning only, minutes equal 60 times required kWh divided by assumed average kW. A hypothetical 30 kWh at a sustained average 60 kW takes 30 minutes; at 30 kW it takes 60 minutes. These are arithmetic assumptions, not vehicle tests. Electrify America explains that charging slows toward the end of a session, so peak power should not be treated as the average.[5]
Read the idle-fee trigger, not just its rate
Electrify America's FAQ states a $0.40-per-minute idle fee for drivers who have not unplugged and moved ten minutes after charging finishes.[4] Its pricing page, however, directs drivers to the session screen for the most up-to-date idle-fee information.[1] Read the FAQ as an official published rule to check locally, not an unconditional guarantee for every future stop.
Distinguish charging duration, time connected after charging, and paid parking duration. Ask what event starts a fee, whether a grace period applies, how partial minutes are rounded, and whether a separately posted parking charge exists. Do not import another network's occupancy or battery-percentage conditions.
Reconstruct a hypothetical session total
All following inputs are invented teaching assumptions, not observed prices or a charging test. Suppose an energy-priced stop delivers 30 kWh at $0.50/kWh: its charging subtotal is $15.00. Suppose instead a time-priced option charges $0.40/minute for 45 billable minutes: its charging subtotal is $18.00. Compare the same 30 kWh, not the same time plugged in.
Now assume either option has five chargeable idle minutes at an invented $0.60/minute, plus a separately posted $2 parking charge. Totals before any applicable tax become $20.00 and $23.00. Without idling or paid parking, those additions disappear. A slower time-priced session lasting 60 minutes would have a $24.00 charging subtotal. This illustrates why the lower-looking unit price alone cannot select the cheaper stop.
Calculate membership break-even for eligible use
Electrify America advertises about 25% charging savings with Pass+ and monthly subscription billing; its pricing page says downgrading takes effect in the next billing cycle.[1] This review did not establish the current subscription amount from that page. Obtain it in the app, along with the actual member and nonmember prices for your planned stops.
For matching per-kWh tariffs, break-even energy equals monthly fee divided by the per-kWh saving. With entirely hypothetical inputs of an $8 fee, $0.50 nonmember pricing and $0.40 member pricing, equality occurs at 80 eligible kWh. At 60 kWh the discount saves $6, less than the fee; at 100 kWh it saves $10, leaving $2 net savings before tax differences. With varying station rates, sum each session's eligible savings instead. Do not count home charging or another network's energy toward the threshold.
Audit the receipt, not a pending card amount
Build the final amount from energy and/or time charges, applicable idle charges, any separate parking or session fee, and tax, less valid credits. Allocate membership cost separately for a monthly comparison rather than adding the entire fee to every stop. Electrify America explains that temporary card authorizations are not the final session charge and that bank release timing varies.[1]
Keep the opening tariff screenshot, end time, delivered kWh and itemized receipt. Members can retrieve receipts through charge history; the FAQ also describes text-message receipts and end-of-session screen totals.[4] If the settled amount disagrees, ask support which units, time band, trigger and adjustment produced the difference.
Sources and scope
Sources support definitions and rules. Worked examples are hypothetical, not current quotes. The check date is neither a source publication date nor a product valuation date.
- Electrify America: Pricing and Plans ↗
Source date: Not stated in the retrieved source · Checked: 2026-09-22
No publication or revision date established from the live page; checked September 22, 2026. Undated guidance may include legacy sections; station-specific displayed terms take priority for a session.
- Electrify America: Frequently Asked Questions ↗
Source date: Not stated in the retrieved source · Checked: 2026-09-22
No publication or revision date established from the live page; checked September 22, 2026. Undated guidance may include legacy sections; station-specific displayed terms take priority for a session.
- Electrify America: EV Charging Glossary ↗
Source date: Not stated in the retrieved source · Checked: 2026-09-22
No publication or revision date established from the live page; checked September 22, 2026. Undated guidance may include legacy sections; station-specific displayed terms take priority for a session.