The winning bid is not your spending limit
A hammer price is the winning bid, not an all-in delivery price. Sotheby’s defines the buyer’s premium as a fee added to the hammer price and included on the invoice.[2] Christie’s likewise says its invoice lists hammer price plus applicable charges such as premium and taxes.[5] Distinguish that auction invoice from your total acquisition budget: money payable separately to a carrier or customs still counts against what you can afford.
Find the schedule for this sale, not a familiar percentage
Record the auction location, currency, sale date, category and lot number. Open that sale’s conditions, premium schedule and lot notices. Sotheby’s directs readers to its Conditions of Business for Buyers for the most up-to-date information; its published premium rates exclude local taxes and applicable artist resale charges.[2] Do not transfer a wine schedule or an old auction’s percentage to a painting.
For a concrete scope check, Christie’s live financial-information page shows a schedule effective 1 September 2026 for collecting categories excluding wine and Gooding Christie’s. Its New York bands are 28% through US$2 million, 22% on the portion above US$2 million through US$8 million, and 15% above US$8 million.[6] This is a named schedule, not a universal auction rate. The specific sale’s applicable terms remain the final check.
Calculate premium on the correct base
Christie’s states that premium is based on the hammer price of each lot.[6] Apply marginal bands to their respective portions, rather than applying the highest band reached to the entire hammer price. Under the cited New York schedule, a hypothetical US$2.5 million hammer produces US$560,000 on the first US$2 million plus US$110,000 on the remaining US$500,000: US$670,000 premium, before taxes and other charges. Do not combine separate lots into one hammer amount when using a per-lot schedule.
Tax needs a base, not just a rate
Sotheby’s says an item’s status and delivery method can affect taxes. Its simplified UK guidance describes VAT on premium and any applicable overhead premium, with possible additional VAT depending on the lot; its Singapore collection guidance includes hammer, premium and overhead premium in the GST base.[3] Neither example establishes the treatment of every artwork. Ask which invoice lines are taxable, whether shipping is included, and whether an artist’s resale royalty or import charge applies.
Collection can matter too. Christie’s says its arranged shipping uses the final destination for sales tax, while its New York guidance says collection by your own agent or shipper attracts New York City sales tax regardless of ultimate destination.[5] Do not assume that arranging export yourself removes tax; obtain sale-specific advice before bidding.
Get delivery and payment costs before setting the ceiling
Christie’s explains that varied dimensions, shapes and materials often require bespoke shipping quotes; international duties and taxes can be paid directly to customs.[5] Request a written quote covering packing, crating, transit cover, delivery address and any exclusions. Ask about collection deadlines and storage. Check your intended payment method too: Christie’s currently lists a 2.5% credit-card administration fee for New York auctions.[5] Confirm its calculation base rather than simply adding 2.5 percentage points to another rate.
Work backwards from a genuinely all-in budget
The following is entirely hypothetical, in US dollars, and is not either auction house’s quotation. Assume a US$1,500 total budget, US$120 fixed shipping including packing and transit cover, and US$100 retained as contingency. Assume a flat 25% premium, 8% tax on hammer plus premium only, untaxed shipping, and no overhead premium, royalty, duty, payment fee or other charge.
Let H be hammer price. Acquisition cost is H × 1.25 × 1.08 + 120. Preserving the contingency gives H ≤ (1,500 − 120 − 100) ÷ 1.35 = US$948.148… . If the permitted bid steps near that amount are hypothetically US$50, choose US$900, not US$950. At US$900, premium is US$225, tax US$90 and delivery US$120: total US$1,335, leaving US$165. At US$950, total is US$1,402.50, leaving only US$97.50 and breaching the chosen contingency.
Change the model when the terms change
The reverse formula works only with those assumptions. If shipping is taxable at the same assumed rate, use (H × 1.25 + 120) × 1.08 instead. For tiered premiums, calculate each candidate hammer through the bands and test the total; round down to a permitted bid. Add any separately calculated charges before deciding. Reconcile the final invoice line by line, while retaining funds for bills outside it.
Sources were checked on 22 September 2026. This is a budgeting workflow, not tax advice or a guaranteed invoice. If a material shipping or tax amount remains unknown, keep a separately justified reserve or decline to bid.
Sources and scope
Sources support definitions and rules. Worked examples are hypothetical, not current quotes. The check date is neither a source publication date nor a product valuation date.
- Sotheby's — What is a buyer's premium? ↗
Source date: 2026-09-09 · Checked: 2026-09-22
Page updated 9 September 2026; checked 22 September 2026. Rates depend on location and exceptions; sale conditions take priority.
- Sotheby's — What taxes do I pay on my purchase? ↗
Source date: 2026-09-09 · Checked: 2026-09-22
Checked 22 September 2026: the direct HTTPS page displayed an update of 9 September 2026 at 14:08, while the extraction service returned 31 July 2026 at 02:24. The source date above follows the direct page; these retrievals are different versions, not a single consistent timestamp. The page does not state a time zone. Simplified location and delivery guidance, not individual tax advice.
- Christie's — Payment and shipping ↗
Source date: Not stated in the retrieved source · Checked: 2026-09-22
No publication date visible in the retrieved body; checked live on 22 September 2026 via direct HTTPS after extraction failed.
- Christie's — Financial information ↗
Source date: 2026-09-01 · Checked: 2026-09-22
Premium schedule effective 1 September 2026, not a page publication date; checked live 22 September 2026. Art schedule excludes wine and Gooding Christie’s.