Compare a timeline, not the opening price
A cheap first month does not establish a cheap two-year connection. For a US home internet comparison, collect the broadband label and the written offer for the same address and plan. Then calculate both 12 and 24 months, even if you expect to stay only a year. The FCC glossary explains that the monthly price can exclude modem rental and taxes, although some providers show an inclusive price.[1] Do not add an included charge twice.
Record three prices and two different clocks
Write down the introductory monthly rate, how long it lasts, and the monthly rate afterward. The FCC glossary says an introductory-rate label includes the period's duration or end date and the price after it expires.[1] If a salesperson cannot confirm the later price, leave that input unknown rather than assuming the promotion continues.
Separately record the contract term. The glossary distinguishes contract length from introductory pricing and explains that ending service before the contract expires can trigger an early termination fee.[1] A 12-month promotion is not proof of a 12-month commitment, and a price without an introductory label is not, by itself, a lifetime price guarantee. Ask for the applicable price-change terms.
Separate equipment, installation and conditional discounts
Build three buckets: monthly charges, one-time charges, and conditional adjustments. The FCC glossary describes recurring equipment fees and one-time connection, installation or equipment-purchase fees.[1] Ask whether a router is included throughout your comparison period, only during the promotion, or not at all. Add installation once, not twelve times; include purchased equipment upfront rather than treating it as a rental.
Verify the offer separately from the label. Verizon explicitly says its Broadband Facts Labels do not include discounts, offers and perks that may be available.[2] That is a provider-specific warning, not a rule that every label excludes every promotion. Confirm automatic-payment eligibility, when credits start, and whether bundling requires another paid service. Subtract a discount only once and only for eligible months.
Use a formula with visible assumptions
For a single introductory period, calculate: total for N months = introductory price × the smaller of N and promotional months + later price × remaining months + recurring extras across those months + one-time charges + usage charges + applicable taxes + exit costs − confirmed credits. Divide by N for an effective monthly cost. If equipment fees or discounts change on another date, split those months separately.
Keep an unknown tax or installation amount marked “not yet included.” It is not zero. Calculate an exit fee only when the scenario actually involves cancellation that triggers it; completing a 12-month comparison does not automatically mean cancelling service.
A reproducible 12-month and 24-month example
These are invented plans in US dollars, not checked provider offers. Assume both meet your speed needs. Plan A costs $40 monthly for 12 months, then $75, plus $10 equipment rental every month and $80 installation. Plan B costs $65 throughout 24 months with equipment included and no installation fee. Assume full billing months, no taxes, other fees, credits, usage charges or exit costs, and no further price changes.
- A, 12 months: 12 × ($40 + $10) + $80 = $680, or $56.67 monthly after rounding.
- B, 12 months: 12 × $65 = $780, or $65 monthly.
- A, 24 months: 12 × $50 + 12 × $85 + $80 = $1,700, or $70.83 monthly.
- B, 24 months: 24 × $65 = $1,560, or $65 monthly.
A saves $100 over 12 months; B saves $140 over 24. After month 12, A costs $20 more each month, so its $100 lead disappears after five further months. Both total $1,105 at month 17. Before choosing A for a short stay, confirm that leaving does not add a cancellation charge.
Stress-test data limits before choosing the winner
The FCC glossary explains that the included data allowance marks the point before extra charges or reduced performance, and describes disclosures for exceeding that allowance.[1] Compare recent household usage with the proposed allowance; download speed and monthly data quantity are different inputs.
Extend the invented example: suppose A charges $10 per started 50 GB over its allowance, your usage exceeds it by 60 GB every month, and B has no extra charge at that usage. Two blocks cost $20 monthly. A's first-year total becomes $680 + 12 × $20 = $920, making B cheaper by $140 even in year one. Actual rounding, caps and slowdown policies must come from the offer, not this example.
Choose, save the evidence and set a reminder
Reject plans that miss your performance or data needs, then compare costs at your likely stay length and one longer horizon. Check typical upload speed and latency as well as download speed; those measures are explained in the FCC glossary.[1] Save the label, address-specific order summary and discount terms, and set a reminder before each price change.
Checked 22 September 2026. This is a US household comparison method, not a current-price ranking or comprehensive review of regulatory amendments. The two cited pages show no publication date in the retrieved text. No address-specific availability, tax amount or actual plan price was verified.
Sources and scope
Sources support definitions and rules. Worked examples are hypothetical, not current quotes. The check date is neither a source publication date nor a product valuation date.
- FCC — Glossary of Terms Used for Consumer Broadband Labels ↗
Source date: Not stated in the retrieved source · Checked: 2026-09-22
No publication date visible in retrieved text; checked 22 September 2026. Guidance, not a verified address-specific offer.
- Verizon — Broadband Facts ↗
Source date: Not stated in the retrieved source · Checked: 2026-09-22
No publication date visible in retrieved text; checked 22 September 2026. Guidance, not a verified address-specific offer.