Start with price, not the largest aid total
A financial aid offer can combine grants, scholarships, work-study and loans under one package.[4] Those amounts do not all reduce the price. For this comparison, net price means cost of attendance minus grants and scholarships; the federal net-price calculator guidance explicitly excludes loans from that calculation.[5] Keep three separate numbers: net price, planned borrowing and the remaining funding gap. A small gap achieved through large loans is not a low-price offer.
Make the cost of attendance comparable
Cost of attendance, or COA, includes more than tuition: Federal Student Aid lists fees, books, supplies, food and housing as well. Most two-year and four-year colleges present it for an academic year.[4] Copy each school's period, tuition category and living arrangement before comparing figures. Ask whether summer is included rather than assuming a fall-and-spring budget covers twelve months.
Separate school-billed expenses from expenses you will pay elsewhere. CFPB's planning tool distinguishes direct costs from indirect costs such as books, transportation and miscellaneous expenses.[2] Build your own line-by-line budget, checking that rent, meals or books have not been counted twice. A lower school bill does not establish a lower total attendance cost.
Sort the offer into three buckets
Grants and scholarships: subtract these when calculating net price, subject to the award requirements. CFPB says they do not have to be repaid as long as those requirements are met.[2] Record each award separately and flag anything still awaiting confirmation; do not treat an application as an award.
Loans: record these as financing, not discounts. CFPB separates debt from non-debt funding and notes that you need not accept every offered loan or its full amount.[2] For your cash plan, confirm who borrows, approval status, fees and the amount actually available to pay costs.
Work-study: put this in an earnings scenario, not the net-price subtraction. CFPB explains that an offer makes you eligible to apply for work-study jobs, not that a job is lined up; the amount is an estimated maximum, not guaranteed earnings.[2] Ask about hiring, hours and payday before relying on it.
Recalculate two hypothetical offers
All figures below are invented US-dollar amounts for the same academic year and comparable housing. School A has COA of $36,000, grants and scholarships of $14,000, proposed loan funding of $5,000 and possible work-study earnings of $3,000. School B has COA of $32,000, grants and scholarships of $13,000, proposed loan funding of $3,000 and possible earnings of $2,000.
A's displayed aid total could be $22,000; B's could be $18,000. Yet A's net price is $36,000 − $14,000 = $22,000, while B's is $32,000 − $13,000 = $19,000. B is $3,000 cheaper on these assumptions, even though A presents more total aid.
Assume $10,000 of family resources at either school. Before borrowing or unearned wages, A needs another $12,000 and B another $9,000. Assume the proposed loans are accepted, approved and deliver the full stated cash amounts; fees and repayment costs are excluded here. The remaining gaps become $7,000 and $6,000. If the full work-study amounts are later earned, they fall to $4,000 each. Equal final gaps conceal different prices and debt: A still costs $3,000 more and uses $2,000 more borrowing.
Check when the money arrives
Annual affordability and the first payment deadline are different tests. CFPB recommends a cash-flow budget and checking uncovered upfront costs with the aid office.[2] Make a dated list of bills, confirmed aid credits, available family cash and expected paychecks. In a separate hypothetical first-term check, a $12,000 bill minus $7,000 of confirmed grant credits minus $3,000 of available cash leaves $2,000 due. Later wages do not erase that deadline. Do not combine this separate example with the annual figures above.
Ask what survives into the next year
CFPB recommends checking renewal requirements and warns that outside scholarships can displace existing aid.[2] Ask in writing: Is each grant renewable? What enrollment or academic conditions apply? Will a new outside award reduce another award? What changes if housing changes? Request a revised offer before updating your comparison. For planning, model both unchanged awards and loss of a one-time award; neither scenario is a school promise.
Use estimates without mistaking them for offers
Net-price calculators estimate costs using what similar students paid previously; FAFSA's submission summary is not a school aid offer.[5][4] This US-focused guide was checked on September 22, 2026. Eligibility is not assessed, including for international students. The sources have undated pages or older guidance sections; this article uses cost definitions and comparison principles, not their historical loan rates, repayment rules or application calendars. No actual college prices or individual award decisions were verified.
Sources and scope
Sources support definitions and rules. Worked examples are hypothetical, not current quotes. The check date is neither a source publication date nor a product valuation date.
- CFPB — Your financial path to graduation ↗
Source date: Not stated in the retrieved source · Checked: 2026-09-22
No whole-page publication date found; checked 22 September 2026. Full live HTML and plain text saved after the extractor returned only fragments. Used only for cost categories, work-study, renewal and cash-flow principles; embedded rates and calendars are not treated as current.
- Federal Student Aid — Financial Aid Dictionary: Top Terms Related to Grants, Work-Study, and Student Loans ↗
Source date: Not stated in the retrieved source · Checked: 2026-09-22
No publication date visible in retrieved text; checked 22 September 2026. Extractor returned a partial article with explicit omissions; only fully visible definitions are used. Direct full-page and browser retrieval failed.
- NCES — Net Price Calculator Information Center ↗
Source date: Not stated in the retrieved source · Checked: 2026-09-22
No single page publication date established; checked 22 September 2026. Contains dated historical guidance, including the 20 February 2013 no-loans clarification. Used for the net-price definition and estimate limitation, not current template versions.